top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKyra Suzawa-Tajima

Journal Joiking

Updated: Apr 9, 2019

Stream of consciousness list:

- Sounds similar to Japanese singing (foreign languages)

- Ancestors

- Meaningful- has purpose

- Raspy voice

- Powerful, Strength

- Mysterious

- Yodeling

- Instrumental background

- Stylistic

- Does the outfit have a relationship to the yoking

- Texture in yoiking



After watching both joiking videos I feel the language is poor in expressing emotions because I do not have enough background to know what they're saying. In order to create an emotional connection to any song you usually find some relation to the lyrics and words. Therefore, since I'm unable to understand what they are singing I can not make an emotional connection. Different forms or styles of dancing can also be transcended into language as it can tell a story. In most dance there are no words, so the audience can interpret different scenarios or intentions.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Scent Log

1. Hairspray : On Saturday the 27th I went to my first prom. I enjoyed being able to get dressed up and to have my hair and makeup on....

Comments


bottom of page